TVMA Awards

TVMA Excellence

The Practitioner of the Year awards are designed to pay tribute to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the field of veterinary medicine. Award recipients are nominated by their colleagues and selected by the Awards Committee. Award winners are honored during the General Session at the TVMA Annual Conference and are profiled throughout the year in the Texas Veterinarian magazine. Call for nominations go out in July of each year and qualified TVMA members may be nominated in one of the following categories:

  • Companion Animal Practitioner of the Year
  • Distinguished Career Achievement Award
  • Equine Practitioner of the Year
  • Food Animal Practitioner of the Year
  • General Practitioner of the Year
  • Industry Representative
  • Non-Traditional Species Practitioner of the Year
  • Veterinary Paraprofessional of the Year (non-licensed team members)
  • Recent Graduate Veterinarian of the Year
  • Veterinary Medical Specialty Award
  • Licensed Veterinary Technician of the Year